Honorary Board

Honorary Board helps represent and promote the Institute outwardly.

Currently, its members are:

Yehuda Bauer (1926) Israeli historian and scholar of the Holocaust. Professor of Holocaust Studies at the Avraham Harman Institute of Contemporary Jewry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Born and raised in Prague, Czechoslovakia. In 1939 the family migrated to Palestine. Upon completing high school in Haifa, he joined the Palmach. He attended Cardiff University in Wales, interrupting his studies to fight in the 1948 Israeli War of Independence, after which he completed his degree. Bauer returned to Israel and began his graduate work in history at Hebrew University. He received his doctorate in 1960 for a thesis on the British Mandate of Palestine. He served on the central committee of Mapam, then the junior partner party of Israel's ruling Labour Party, and was a visiting professor at Brandeis University, Yale University, Richard Stockton College, and Clark University. He was the founding editor of the ''Journal for Holocaust and Genocide Studies'', and served on the editorial board of the ''Encyclopedia of the Holocaust'', published by Yad Vashem in 1990.

Stuart Eizenstat (1943) Partner in Washington, D.C. law firm, Covington & Burling and senior strategist at APCO Worldwide. From 1977 to 1981, he was President Jimmy Carter’s Chief Domestic Policy Adviser, and Executive Director of the White House Domestic Policy Staff. He was President Bill Clinton's Deputy Secretary of the Treasury (1999–2001), Under Secretary of State for Economic, Business, and Agricultural Affairs (1997–1999), and also served as the Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade at the International Trade Administration (ITA) from 1996 to 1997. He has served as the United States Ambassador to the European Union from 1993 to 1996 and as co-chairman of the European-American Business Council (EABC). Throughout his career, also as a U. S. Special Envoy for Property Claims in Central and Eastern Europe, he played a key role in the fight for the restitution of Holocaust survivors´ and victims´ rights.  His book „Imperfect Justice“ is a valuable source of information in this field.

Elie Wiesel (1928). Romanian-born Jewish-American writer, professor, political activist, Nobel Laureate and Holocaust survivor. Author of 57 books, including Night, a work based on his experiences as a prisoner in the Auschwitz, Buna, and Buchenwald concentration camps. Wiesel is also the Advisory Board Chairman of the Algemeiner Journal newspaper. When Wiesel was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1986, the Norwegian Nobel Committee called him a "messenger to mankind", stating that through his struggle to come to terms with "his own personal experience of total humiliation and of the utter contempt for humanity shown in Hitler's death camps", as well as his "practical work in the cause of peace", Wiesel had delivered a powerful message "of peace, atonement and human dignity" to humanity.

Simone Veil (1927) French lawyer and politician who served as Minister of Health under Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, President of the European Parliament and member of the Constitutional Council of France. A survivor from the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp where she lost part of her family, she is the Honorary President of the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah.